Centre on Integrated Rural Development for Asia and the Pacific

For Prosperous Rural Community

Mission and Vision

CIRDAPThe Centre on Integrated Rural Development for Asia and the Pacific (CIRDAP) is a regional, intergovernmental and autonomous organisation. It was established on 6 July 1979 at the initiative of the countries of the Asia-Pacific region and the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations with support from several other UN bodies and donors. The Centre came into being to meet the felt needs of the developing countries at that time as an institution for promoting integrated rural development in the region.

From the original six members, CIRDAP has now grown up as a Centre of 15 member countries. The member-countries are Afghanistan, Bangladesh (Host State), Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

Operating through designated contact ministries and link institutions in member countries, CIRDAP promotes regional cooperation. It plays a supplementary and reinforcing role in supporting and furthering the effectiveness of integrated rural development programmes in Asia and the Pacific.

Prosperous rural communities enjoying improved living conditions as a result of collaborative efforts of CMCs working together and learning from each other.


CIRDAP is an Intergovernmental organisation mandated to facilitate the provision of services that will influence policy formulation and programme action towards rural development and poverty alleviation through a network of CIRDAP contact ministries and link institutions.

Rural Development Reports (RDR)
Electronic Periodicals
News Paper Clipping


Member States